You are here
Home > Winners > 1979 cricket world cup winner

1979 cricket world cup winner

The 1979 Cricket World Cup (authoritatively the Prudential Cup ’79) was the second version of the Cricket World Cup and was won by the West Indies. It was held from 9 to 23 June 1979 in England. The arrangement had stayed unaltered from 1975 cricket world cup. Eight nations took an interest in the occasion. The preparatory matches were played in two gatherings of four groups each. The main two groups in each gathering played the semi-finals, the champs of which met in the last at Lord’s.

The matches played comprised of 60 overs for each group and were played in customary white dressing and with red balls. They were altogether played amid the day and henceforth began early.

The Prudential Cup was lifted by Clive Lloyd, skipper of the West Indies who began as the top choices to win the container once more. There was no ‘Man of the Series’ granted in 1979.

Spread the love