You are here
Home > Winners > 2003 cricket world cup winner

2003 cricket world cup winner

The 2003 Cricket World Cup (referred to authoritatively as ICC Cricket World Cup 2003) was the eighth Cricket World Cup, sorted out by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was co-facilitated by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya from 9 February to 23 March 2003. This version of the World Cup was the first to be played in Africa.

The competition highlighted 14 groups, the biggest number in the World Cup’s history at the time, playing an aggregate of 54 matches. It took after the organization presented in the 1999 Cricket World Cup, with the groups separated into two gatherings, and the main three in each gathering meeting all requirements for the Super Sixes phase.

The competition saw various surprises, with South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies and England all being killed at the gathering stage (South Africa missed by 1 pursue misreading the Duckworth-Lewis strategy rules). Britain relinquished their match with Zimbabwe, because of the political turmoil in the nation, which eventually empowered that group to achieve the Super Sixes. Essentially, New Zealand relinquished their match with Kenya, because of security reasons which empowered the last to achieve the semi-finals, the main non-Test playing country to do as such. Another stun wave came two days after the competition had begun, when Shane Warne, at the time one of the amusement’s driving spinners, was sent home in disfavor in the wake of testing positive for a prohibited substance.

The competition was inevitably won by Australia who won every one of the 11 of their matches, beating India in the last played at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. This was Australia’s third World Cup win, the main group to do as such.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply