You are here
Home > Winners > 2007 cricket world cup winner

2007 cricket world cup winner

The 2007 Cricket World Cup (formally known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2007) was the ninth release of the Cricket World Cup competition that occurred in the West Indies from 13 March to 28 April 2007, utilizing the game’s One Day International (ODI) design. There were a sum of 51 matches played, three less than at the 2003 World Cup (regardless of a field bigger by two groups).

The 16 contending groups were at first separated into four gatherings, with the two best-performing groups from each gathering proceeding onward to a “Super 8” design. From this, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa won through to the semi-finals, with Australia overcoming Sri Lanka in the last to win their third back to back World Cup and their fourth general.

Australia’s unbeaten record in the competition expanded their aggregate to 29 sequential World Cup matches without misfortune, a streak going back to 23 May 1999, amid the gathering phase of the 1999 World Cup. The competition additionally observed miracles in the first round with competition top picks India and Pakistan neglecting to progress past the gathering stage while Bangladesh, the most minimal positioned Test-playing country, and Ireland, a partner (non-Test-playing) country, progressed to the Super 8s.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply