You are here
Home > Winners > 2011 cricket world cup winner

2011 cricket world cup winner

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup (authoritatively known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2011) was the tenth Cricket World Cup. It was played in India, Sri Lanka, and (out of the blue) Bangladesh. India won the competition, crushing Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the last at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, in this manner turning into the principal nation to win the Cricket World Cup last on home soil. India’s Yuvraj Singh was pronounced the man of the competition. This was the first run through in World Cup history that two Asian groups had showed up in the last. It was additionally the first run through since the 1992 World Cup that the last match did not include Australia.

All the matches were One Day Internationals, and all were played more than 50 overs. Fourteen national cricket groups participated, including 10 full individuals and four partner individuals from the ICC. The opening service was hung on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka, and the competition was played between 19 February and 2 April. The principal coordinate was played amongst India and Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

Pakistan was likewise booked to be a co-have, however after the 2009 assault on the Sri Lanka national cricket group in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) scratched off that, and the central command of the sorting out board of trustees, initially in Lahore, was exchanged to Mumbai. Pakistan was to have held 14 matches, including one semi-last. Eight of the amusements (counting the semi-last) were granted to India, four to Sri Lanka, and two to Bangladesh.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply